We should all be feminists

We should all be feminists | Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie | TEDxEuston

Watching this Ted Talk, always inspired me.

This has really made me reflect on my experiences and certain social norm in America. There was one incident that happen 3 years ago at school that was very surprising. I was walking with a male Asian friend going into a building, chatting away. I got to the door first and opened the door and waited for him to go in. But he didn’t. He stopped and there was a couple second pauses. I told him to go in first but he told me to go in first. I was confused by this and went in. I thought, was the social norm of “men holding the door” and “ladies goes first” happening right now? I told him that I had already reached the door first and was letting him go in first, so why couldn’t he just go in?. He said that, it was because he was raise up this way…

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

